Antique MapI don’t like maps.

In fact, a couple of weeks ago, I was on a trip with my husband and, because of his busy schedule, I  arranged to visit a city by myself. I only had one day, didn’t speak the language – and I refused to take a map.

I knew there were some sights I wanted to see, but that was the extent of my preparedness. I didn’t take a guidebook. I didn’t download an app. I got just enough information so I could get to my destination via the local commuter train. And early one morning, with a raincoat and a great pair of walking shoes,  off I went with fingers crossed.

Guess what?

I had one of the best times of my life. I started off by going the wrong way, and heading down streets and along byways that took me far away from the well worn paths of tourists and shoppers. I saw canals like crooked fingers that pointed me in new directions, and led me to old neighborhoods and pretty little parks. Even better, I met wonderful people, who tolerated my stumbling over words in their language as they navigated English, and together we shared some great laughs. Oh and by the way, I made it to those sights I wanted to see – but it was more fun getting there, than when I arrived.

I’ll never forget that day and that adventure.

It’s how I feel about this blog. It’s an adventure. I don’t have a map, and I’m not quite sure of the language. I may even start off by going in the wrong direction. But I’m certain of this: I’ll learn new things about myself, internal communications and writing; and I’m going to discover interesting and wonderful people along the way.

I hope you’ll join me on this journey. Stay and have a conversation about internal communications, culture, change and transformation.

