typingGood writing skills are critical to an internal communicator’s success or failure. Yet, even when we attain proficiency in writing, we can’t rest on our laurels. It’s important to continue to hone our writing technique and keep our skills sharp. Based on my experience, there are three steps to ensure your writing skills stay up to snuff. Today I’ll review steps one and two, and tomorrow I’ll go into detail about step three. (For the purpose of this post, I’m focusing on writing in English.)

  1. Read. Reading fuels writing. In his April, 2014 Huffington Post article, Mike Hanski effectively connects the dots between reading and writing. I promise you: After you’ve read the article, you’ll reach for a book or navigate to a blog to keep on reading!
  2. Keep It Fresh. On any given day, internal communicators have to deal with multiple writing requests and tight deadlines. That’s when we can begin to form bad habits by cutting corners and hoping we remember those grammar and usage rules. Regularly refreshing ourselves on what makes writing good, and reviewing the underpinnings-namely, grammar, punctuation, and style-can help us nip those bad habits in the bud and continue to add value to our organizations. As a start, read 4 Marks of Good Writing by Rachel Scheller from Writer’s Digest. Then scan the following links, and bookmark any pages that interest you:
  3. Spread the Good News. Tomorrow, I’ll share in greater detail what I mean by my third step.

Do you have favorite resources and tactics that keep your writing at its best? I invite you to share your recommendations. Look for part two tomorrow.

